o rly?!

I just got this email with the subject like “Fraud complaint!!”

Dear business owner,

A complaint has been filled against you by Mr. Jim Evans, claiming that you and your company are involved in tax-evasion schemes.

The original complaint can be viewed by visiting the following link : (I took out the link, just in case anyone would have tried to click it.  Ahem, mother.)

Before starting an investigation , we are required to check the balance reports of your company and compare them with the data you filled in the tax forms.

Please forward the required reports to : derek.jones@fraud.irs.gov

Thank you,

Derek Jones

Fraud Department

Internal Revenue Service

You’d think a person trying to phish my information would AT LEAST use proper punctuation and capitalization throughout the email.  Idiots.

 

18 Responses

  1. Just got hit with this one in North Carolina, sent a smart alec e-mail back…..

    Daniel Shirah

    • I would love to see the email! :)

      • I would be obliged, but what do you have against this girl….. sosarasaid.wordpress.com? Seeing as she’s in New York, how could we have the same complainant? I got a hot curling iron with your name on it,

        Daniel Shirah

        Sent from my iPhone

        On Nov 26, 2010, at 10:07 AM, “Internal Revenue Service” wrote:

        >
        > Dear business owner,
        > A complaint has been filled against you by Mr. Jim Evans, claiming that you and your company are involved in tax-evasion schemes.
        > The original complaint can be viewed by visiting the following link :
        > http://www.irs.gov/compliance/enforcement/complanint/0,,id=106705,00.html
        > Before starting an investigation , we are required to check the balance reports of your company and compare them with the data you filled in the tax forms.
        > Please forward the required reports to : derek.jones@fraud.irs.gov
        >
        > Thank you,
        > Derek Jones
        > Fraud Department
        > Internal Revenue Service

    • Nice ^_^

  2. i just got one too, a brit in canada who has absolutly nothing to fear of the IRS. so my guess its just very random.
    it actually comes from IP 172.129.85.130 which is in Reston, Virginia. was expecting nigeria :)

  3. i got the same thing.

  4. Same here…

  5. Me too, I just reported to it the scam/fraud department at the actual IRS. I hate stuff like that. It unnerves me.

  6. Hi Guys, Please search on IRS’s website to find the email link to fwd these scams.

    (dont want to post it here in case you think I am a scam too lol)

  7. thanks for this posting–i actually clicked the link and nothing happened but might have gone further had it not been for this posting–thanks again!

  8. I got the same email as well. I almost opened the link and yahoo actually stopped me from it. Thanks to yahoo, i just can’t understand why people can’t use their talent towards something meaningful.

  9. […] o rly?! « …so Sara said. […]

  10. Same here, though i don’t have any office in USA.
    Surprising thing is the from address in the mail is fraud@irs.gov, which makes such spammy mails look genuine.

  11. Just got the same in Indonesia! Right, the IRS is now going global after foreign companies too. Beware of Phishing!!

  12. I also got this mail and tried to open it but was stopped by Yahoo. Thanks for this posting. We should forward this to IRS. Be careful, before doing any thing call & check with IRS.

  13. I got the same thing.. I sent it to the phishing department at the IRS.. These people are a waste of space…. O.o I am SOOO very annoyed…. I live in CT and I knew what it was to moment I opened it, I looked it up to be certain (the fraud@irs.gov had thrown me off) and thanks to you all, I officially knew…Wow they suck…. lol

  14. Easy Click Commissions scam…

    […]o rly?! « …so Sara said.[…]…

  15. optionstars

    o rly?! | …so Sara said.

Leave a Reply

