Living for free in NYC

So, I have curly hair.  The picture in the banner is about 4 years outdated.  It’s not blonde anymore, either.  Anyway, the point is that it’s a BITCH to find someone you can trust to cut your hair.  It’s even more of a pain to find someone in NYC that won’t charge you and arm and a leg to cut your hair.  (i.e. I’m not paying $50 to go to your apartment so you can cut it while it’s dry and not even style it before I go.  I WANT A HEAD SCRUB. Cost vs. worth!  // I’m not paying $400 to get my hair cut at a special curly hair salon on the Upper East Side.)

So what is the compromise?  Hair school.  I went to the Bumble&Bumble academy  today to get my hair cut for free.  They are students getting their apprenticeship hours in, so yeah – they aren’t professionals yet.  But they will be!  And they are constantly supervised by instructors.  Not too much can go wrong… really.

And even if it isn’t perfect… it’s free.  NYC is full of these places.  Aveda, Redken, Bumble&Bumble, Loreal, etc.  Try it.  Even once!

One Response

  1. My name is Liz, and I approve this message as a fellow student needing people to practice on :)

Leave a Reply

