why i won’t support the saints.

I finally did the research on the insipid “who dat” chant, and I am happy to say that my theory can be well-supported.  On (and previous to) Superbowl Sunday, I said that I refused to pull for a team that had a chant that encouraged people to remain grammatically incorrect.  And quite frankly, I also found it racist.  I wasn’t sure why when I said it, but then searched back through the banks of undergrad, when I took a course on the history of African American music.  Maybe if any of those fans took a moment to realize what they were saying instead of jumping on a dirty bandwagon, they would realize that their chant originated in 1800’s minstrel shows.

For those who are not in the know, minstrel (or minstrelsy) shows basically lampooned black people in the late 1800’s / early 1900’s.  They poked fun at black people in mostly disparaging ways: ignorant, lazy, buffoonish, superstitious, joyous, and musical.  And, OF-FUCKING-COURSE, the “who dat” bit was making fun of their undereducated way of speech, being grammatically incorrect. These were white people, dressed up in black face, impersonating and making fun of their slaves.

Why are we supporting this now?  Why are we supporting chants of lazy grammar, or chants of the undereducated, or chants of the old racist?  I don’t support this and never will.

Plus, I’m pretty sure that my saying I like the Colts because of their uniforms better is just as bad as you hokey morons saying you like the Saints because you like going to New Orleans. Get over it.

One Response

  1. well said :)

Leave a Reply

